Pritzker Achievements

Faculty Achievements

Rita Rossi-Foulkes

Rita Rossi-Foulkes, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, has been selected to serve as the National Secretary-Treasurer for the Medicine-Pediatrics Program Directors Association. Dr. Rossi-Foulkes is Program Director for the University of Chicago Medicine-Pediatrics Residency Program.

Student Honors and Publications

Leonardo Aliaga

Leonardo Aliaga, a first-year student, was elected to a leadership role in the Network of Latin American Medical Students (NNLAMS)-Midwest Regional Committee.

John Andrawis

First-year student John Andrawis has been chosen to participate in the Medical Student Training in Aging Research (MSTAR) program. Through this program he will receive a grant from the American Federation for Aging Research and will be conducting research related to aging and geriatrics at the University of California, Los Angeles throughout the summer.

Brandy Blackwell

Brandy Blackwell, a first-year student, won Best Basic Science Poster in the Wilbert C. Jordan Research Forum at the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) Spring Meeting, in March. Dr. John Cunningham, Professor of Pediatrics mentored Brandy in her research on “The Role of EKLF in Erythrad Gene Expression and Cell Cycle Regulation.”

Marissa Encinosa

Marissa Encinosa DeFreitas, a third-year student, won an American Association of University Women (AAUW) Selected Professions Scholarship. The scholarship recognizes women in professional schools who are underrepresented in their respective fields. Marissa will be working closely with the CAMP pipeline program for undergraduate and premed students as a part of her funded project.

Ed Gometz

Third-year student Ed Gometz has been chosen to participate in the Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program. Through the Schweitzer program, Ed will provide bilingual child safety, health promotion, and preventive medicine workshops for new parents and secondary caregivers as well as provide basic training in child and infant CPR.

Neena Kapoor

Third-year student Neena Kapoor presented her clinical vignette poster “TTP or not TTP?” at the Society of Hospital Medicine Annual Meeting and received Honorable Mention out of 64 clinical vignette posters that were presented. The poster represents a case of a young woman with lupus who presented with an intracranial hemorrhage and renal insufficiency thought to be due to malignant hypertension who actually had TTP, which was diagnosed using a new autoantibody test.

Zambian children at the CIDRZ

Zambian children at the CIDRZ

Dan Krebs was the first author of “Community-Based Follow-Up for Late Patients Enrolled in a District-Wide Programme for Antiretroviral Therapy in Lusaka, Zambia,” which was published in the March 2008 issue of AIDS Care. Dan, now a second-year student, began this research while working at the Centre for Infectious Disease Research in Zambia (CIDRZ) prior to matriculating at Pritzker. The CIDRZ is a joint venture between the University of Alabama and the Zambian Ministry of Health. Dan is also the second author of “Cluster-Randomized Trial of Enhanced Labor Ward-Based PMTCT Services to Increase Population Nevirapine Coverage in Lusaka, Zambia,” which was accepted for an oral presentation at the XVII International AIDS Conference in Mexico City.

Kent Mouw

Research done by third-year MSTP student Kent Mouw is featured on the cover of the April 25 issue of Molecular Cell. The article “Architecture of a Serine Recombinase-DNA Regulatory Complex” was co-authored by Dr. Phoebe Rice, Associate Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Their work looks at a unique DNA recombination system from Staphylococcus aureus, which uses the topology of the DNA to control the initiation and outcome of the recombination reaction. This information will provide a framework for future studies of the system.

Victoria Rodriguez

First-year student Victoria Rodriguez was recently elected to the National Network of Latin American Medical Students (NNLAMS) as a National Board Member and Regional Development Chair. In this role, Victoria will reach out to Latino medical students across the country to promote student leadership and development through involvement in the national organization.

Yang Shen

Yang Shen, a second-year student, has been selected to participate in the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research’s 2008 Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship program. Through the program, Yang will examine how non-ocular anesthesia may contribute to ischemic optic neuropathy (ION) and lead to perioperative vision loss.

Ann DeBord Smith

Third-year student Ann DeBord Smith is the recipient of the AOA Carolyn L. Kuckein Student Research Fellowship for her proposal “Towards an Online Matching Mechanism for Kidney Paired Donation.” With the support of AOA, Ann will work with Dr. Giuliano Testa, Associate Professor of Surgery to improve the model of matching kidney donor-recipient pairs by optimally matching some incompatible pairs early. Ann also received a Roche Presidential Student Mentor Award from the American Society of Transplant Surgeons to support this project.

Nathan Tonlaar

First-year student Nathan Tonlaar received an award for Best Basic Science Poster in the Wilbert C. Jordan Research Forum at the Student National Medical Association (SNMA) Spring Meeting in March. Nathan is mentored by Bradley T. Keller, PhD from Pfizer Global Research and Development in St. Louis, Missouri. The poster was titled “Correlation of Rat and Human Aortic Smooth Muscle Cell-based Assays for cGMP Production by Heme-dependent sGC Activators.”

Jeremy Wortman

Jeremy Wortman, a first-year student, recently published the article “Medical School Programs to Increase the Rural Physician Supply: a Systematic Review and Projected Impact of Widespread Replication” in the March 2008 edition of Academic Medicine. Through previous work conducted with the Department of Family Medicine at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, Jeremy’s project looks at the projected impact on the rural physician workforce if all medical schools were to adopt programs to train rural physicians