Student Life

Pre-Clinical Advising

Recognizing students’ need for a clear point of contact for guidance throughout the first two years of medical school, the Pritzker School of Medicine appointed Dr. Chelsea Dorsey as the Director of Preclinical Advising to serve as a resource for MS1 and MS2 students. In this role, Dr. Dorsey takes a holistic approach to each preclinical student’s development, being mindful of progress related to scholarly pursuits, leadership capabilities, professionalism, cultural sensitivity, and community outreach.

The Preclinical Advising Program includes:

  • Resources to help students connect with faculty members so that they can engage in meaningful shadowing experiences
  • One on one meetings during the MS1 and MS2 year with Dr. Dorsey
  • Multiple Career Advising at Pritzker (CAP) Sessions throughout the year and access to previously recorded events.
  • Access to information regarding learning opportunities available at the University level.
  • Weekly office hours with Dr. Dorsey for preclinical students (Wednesdays 11:00AM-1:00PM). Please contact Selena Gardunio to schedule appointments.

 

SPRING QUARTER

CAREER ADVISING AT PRITZKER SESSIONS

 

 

Day Date Time CAP Seminar Topic Faculty Member
  MARCH      
Wednesday 3/31/2021 6:00pm Orthopedics Lewis Shi
  APRIL      
Friday 4/2/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine John McConville
Monday 4/5/2021 12:00pm Neurology Veronica Cipriani
Wednesday 4/7/2021 12:00pm Pediatric Critical Care  Grace Chong 
Friday 4/9/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine Julie Oyler
Monday 4/12/2021 6:00pm Ophthalmology Asim Farooq
Wednesday 4/14/2021 12:00pm Pediatric Hospitalist Medicine  Nikki Orlov 
Wednesday 4/14/2021 6:00pm Urology Greg Bales
Friday 4/16/2021 12:00pm Neurology Veronica Cipriani
Wednesday 4/21/2021 12:00pm Pediatric Emergency Medicine  Lisa McQueen  
Wednesday 4/21/2021 6:00pm Plastic Surgery Summer Hanson
Friday 4/23/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine Julie Oyler
Monday 4/26/2021 12:00pm PPD Wei Wei Lee
Wednesday 4/28/2021 12:00pm Pediatric Cardiology  Paula Williams 
Wednesday 4/28/2021 6:00pm General Surgery Mustafa Hussain / Jennifer Tseng
  MAY      
Monday 5/3/2021 12:00pm Neurology Veronica Cipriani
Wednesday 5/5/2021 12:00pm Pediatric Hospital Medicine and Medical Education Barrett Fromme 
Wednesday 5/5/2021 6:00pm Vascular Surgery Chelsea Dorsey
Friday 5/7/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine Julie Oyler / John McConville
Monday 5/10/2021 12:00pm Neurology Veronica Cipriani
Wednesday 5/12/2021 12:00pm  Pediatric Infectious Diseases Julia Rosebush 
Wednesday 5/12/2021 6:00pm ENT Andrea Shogan
Friday 5/14/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine Julie Oyler / John McConville
Wednesday 5/19/2021 6:00pm Neuro Surgery Martin Herman
Friday 5/21/2021 12:00pm Internal Medicine Julie Oyler / John McConville