Gold Humanism Honor Society

In 2005, the Pritzker School of Medicine established a Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) chapter at the University of Chicago. This latest initiative from the Arnold P. Gold Foundation honors medical students, residents, role-model physician teachers and other exemplars recognized for “demonstrated excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service.” The election process is based upon the recommendations of third year student peers of the Pritzker School of Medicine and from the GHHS Selection Committee deliberations. The selection committee is composed of faculty and staff who interact with students in a variety of settings.

2024 Gold Humanism Honor Society Ceremony
Tuesday, February 6th
6:00pm Central Time

The Gold Humanism Honor Society recognizes those who…

  • Model, encourage and sustain the values of humanism and professionalism
  • Enjoy a shared vision of a balance between science and humanism
  • Lead, mentor, and inspire colleagues to promote humanism at all levels of healthcare
  • Advocate for humanism in medicine – on campus, in practice, personally, locally, nationally
  • Nurture fellowship in membership
  • With humility, reach out to and support those bowed down by barriers to humanism in medicine
  • Are a force for better healthcare for all


2023-24 University of Chicago Gold Humanism Honor Society Inductees:

Murtala Affini Samantha Morris
Saara-Anne Azizi, MA, PhD Alex Rains
Gabriela Betancourt Meera Sakthivel
Cassandra Daisy Rachel Son
Daniel Dolan Nikhil Umesh
Emily Feuka Melinique Walls 
Isra Hasnain Madison Weigand