2012 Medical Education Grants Awarded

May 24, 2012 - The Academy of Distinguished Medical Educators, the Graduate Medical Education Executive Committee (GMEC), and the Pritzker School of Medicine have announced the 2012 recipients of the University of Chicago Medical Education Grants.

Each year the Dean for Medical Education and the Pritzker School of Medicine make research funding available to support research in medical student education and resident/fellow education. These awards are part of an ongoing series of initiatives to foster research, innovation, and scholarship in medical education and to promote and sustain a strong culture of teaching throughout the medical school and in our graduate medical education programs. Since the medical education grants' inception in 2006, the grants have laid the foundation for curricular innovations within the medical school and graduate medical education programs.

The 2012 Medical Education Grantees

EFforRT: Evaluation and Feedback for Resident Teachers Sabrina Holmquist, MD, MPH, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Resident Education on Patient-Oriented Clinic Handoffs (EPOCH) Wei Wei Lee, MD, MPH, and Amber Pincavage, MD, Department of Medicine

Development and Evaluation of a Systems Based Practice Curriculum for Surgery Residents Nancy Schindler, MD, MHPE, Department of Surgery, NorthShore University HealthSystem

All awardees will be presenting a poster presentation of their medical education research project at Medical Education Day in November. For more information about past awardees, please visit the Medical Education Research Grants page.