MSTP Notable Alumni

Meet a few of our distinguished graduates



 Anupam B. Jena, PhD’06, MD’09 
Ruth L. Newhouse Associate Professor of Health Care Policy
Harvard Medical School

Anupam Bapu Jena obtained his PhD in economics in 2006 and graduated from Pritzker in 2009. He completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital and is now the Ruth L. Newhouse Associate Professor of Health Care Policy at Harvard Medical School and a physician in the Department of Medicine at Massachusetts General Hospital. He is also a faculty research fellow at the National Bureau of Economic Research. As an economist and physician, Dr. Jena’s research involves several areas of health economics and policy including the economics of physician behavior and the physician workforce, medical malpractice, the economics of health care productivity, and the economics of medical innovation. In 2013, he received the NIH Director’s Early Independence Award to fund research on the physician determinants of health care spending, quality, and patient outcomes. 


 Mary Dinauer, PhD’79, MD’81
Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology & Immunology
Fred M. Saigh Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Research
Scientific Director, the Children’s Discovery Institute
Washington University in St. Louis

Mary Dinauer earned her PhD in 1979 and MD in 1981, followed by internship and residency training in Pediatrics at the University of California, San Francisco and a fellowship in Pediatric Hematology/Oncology at Boston Children’s Hospital and Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Much of her career was spent at Indiana University School of Medicine, where she was also director of the Wells Center for Pediatric Research. Dr. Dinauer moved to Washington University in 2010, where she is currently a Professor of Pediatrics and Pathology & Immunology, the Fred M. Saigh Distinguished Chair in Pediatric Research, and the Scientific Director of the Children’s Discovery Institute, which funds early stage basic and translational child health research. She is a specialist in pediatric hematology, with a particular interest in the leukocyte NADPH oxidase and inherited defects in Chronic Granulomatous Disease, characterized by increased susceptibility to bacterial and fungal infections and as well as inflammatory conditions. Her research is focused on the leukocyte NADPH oxidase, which plays a critical role in microbial killing and is increasingly recognized to have important immunomodulatory functions. 


William McDade, PhD'88, MD'90
American Medical Association Board of Trustees
Executive Vice President & Chief Academic Officer

Ochsner Health System

William A. McDade, MD, PhD, a board-certified anesthesiologist, was elected to the American Medical Association Board of Trustees in June 2016. He serves as executive vice president and chief academic officer for the Ochsner Health System in New Orleans, which is Louisiana’s largest nonprofit, academic, multispecialty health care delivery system with more than 2,700 affiliated physicians and over 19,000 employees.  He also heads the innovation mission of Ochsner with the goal of driving research in Ochsner’s Centers of Excellence and throughout the system. A nationally recognized medical educator, Dr. McDade currently has served as a director for the Accreditation Council on Graduate Medical Education and is a member of the National Board of Medical Examiners. He also serves the U.S. Department of Education as a member of the National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation. The founder of the Bowman Society, a mentoring organization that prepares minority scholars for academic medicine careers, Dr. McDade is a powerful advocate both for minorities in medical education and for the elimination of racial and ethnic health disparities.  Most recently, Dr. McDade as appointed as a member of the Joint Commission. A member of Alpha Omega Alpha, Dr. McDade’s clinical care and research focuses primarily on clinical anesthesiology and the treatment of sickle cell disease.