MSTP | Medical Scientist Training Program


The Medical Scientist Training Program is committed to training the next generation of scholars and leaders in the biomedical sciences by providing students with access to the very best resources of the University of Chicago. Chicago’s distinctive interdisciplinary approach encourages students to explore their medical and research interests in the broadest possible terms in medicine, biology, the physical sciences, and the social sciences.

Marcus Clark, MD; Director, MSTP Program

The Pritzker School of Medicine at the University of Chicago has a long-standing tradition of training academic physicians and physician scientists. We were among the earliest schools to obtain federal funding in 1967 for the Medical Scientist Training Program (MSTP) and are currently one of the longest running programs in the country.

News & Announcements

  • Congratulations to all of our MSTP M4's on their Residency matches!
  • Anupam (Bapu) Jena PhD'06, MD'09 is featured on the latest of Freakonomics Radio, titled "Bad Medicine, Part 1: The Story of 98.6"! Listen HERE.
  • The University Community Service Center has recognized the MSTP's Phillip Hsu, along with medical student Victoria Wang, with the President's Volunteer Service Award for their efforts in founding the Bridgeport Free Clinic.

    You can read about it in the current edition of Medicine on the Midway!

  • David Blair, PhD'14 and Melissa Tjota, PhD'15 were elected to the 2017 class of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Congratulations!
  • Congratulations to Katie Long (G2) for winning the Summer 2016 BSD Photo Contest!  
  • Congratulations to Marina Sharifi PhD'14, who was awarded The Leon O. Jacobson Basic Science Prize at this year's Pritzker Senior Scientific Session for her project "Autophagy Promotes Focal Adhesion Disassembly, Tumor Cell Motility, and Metastasis Through Src-regulated Degradation of Focal Adhesion Protein Paxillin" in Dr. Kay Macleod's lab. The award is granted to the MD/PhD student whose basic science research is judged to be the most meritorious from among session participants.
  • Our own Alan Hutchison is the recipient of this year's Jane Morton and Henry C. Murphy Award! The award recognizes non-graduating students who "have made exceptional and unique contributions to the University community." You can find more information here. Congratulations Alan!


Visit us on Facebook and Twitter!